in

Events for Jan-April 2018: New Year’s Day at Tansley; Robbie Burns race, Chilly Half Marathon and more

City surpasses goal of 150 events for Canada 150; reaches 157

There’s a lot to do in coming months. The following is a list of events from January to March in public spaces across Burlington that have received event permits from city staff. Council has delegated approval for events to festivals and events staff.

  • Mon. Jan. 1, City of Burlington’s New Years Day, Tansley Woods
  • until Mon. Jan. 8: Burlington’s Lakeside Festival of Lights, Spencer Smith Park
  • Sun. Jan. 28, Robbie Burns 8k Road Race, Burlington Central High School
  • Sun. March 4: Chilly Half Marathon & Frosty 5k, Civic Square and Brant St.
  • Sun. March 25: Around the Bay 30k Road Race, Northshore Blvd.
  • Fri. March 30: Good Friday Road Race, Aldershot, on-road
  • Sat. March 31: Orchard Park Egg Hunt, Orchard Park
  • Sun. April 15: Easter Eggstravaganza, LaSalle Park
  • Fri. April 20 – Sun. April 22: TENTATIVE: Burlington Lifestyle Home Show; Mainway Recreation Centre
  • Sat. April 21: Burlington Green’s Community Clean Up Eco-Fair Celebration, Central Park – Bandshell

The summary of approved events was included in a memo in the Dec. 22 Council Information Package.

In that memo, staff also advised that the city had surpassed its goal of 150 Love My Hood events across Burlington in recognition of Canada 150 celebrations; 157 events were held.

Written by Marianne Meed Ward

I was inspired to seek public office because I believe, like so many of you, “I can do something about that” on the issues we face. As councilor, my role is to take a stand on what’s best for residents and go to bat for it. Pushback is inevitable from those who don’t have the community’s interests at heart. I will stand with you and for you, to achieve the best interests of our city, without caving to unacceptable compromise in the name of consensus.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

What's your take?

Sound of Music Festival approved for second paid event in Spencer Smith Park

Public meeting Jan. 17 for 2, 8-storeys, plus 117 towns at 484-490 Plains Rd E