Nominees announced for Burlington’s Best Awards May 11

Burlington's Best LogoResidents are invited to join some of Burlington’s finest civic-minded volunteers, advocates and community leaders on Wednesday, May 11, 2016 at 6:30 p.m. at the Burlington Convention Centre, 1120 Burloak Dr., for the 2015 Burlington’s Best Awards, a gala evening in honour of Burlington’s most outstanding citizens.

This year’s nominees are:

Citizen of the Year – Paul Echlin, Brenda Hunter
Senior Person of the Year – Bob Pring, John Worobec, Ed Dorr
Junior Citizen of the Year – Olivia Walker-Edwards, Erin Richardson, Kelli Hornick, Chris Choi
Environmental Award – Herb Sinnock, Vince Fiorito, Ken Woodruff
Heritage Person of the Year – Winifred Stewart, Derek Martin
Arts Person of the Year – Dan Murray, Cate Beech
Community Service Award – Gilbert Deveer, Frank Lupton, Anne Swarbrick, Janice Martin

Written by Marianne Meed Ward

I was inspired to seek public office because I believe, like so many of you, “I can do something about that” on the issues we face. As councilor, my role is to take a stand on what’s best for residents and go to bat for it. Pushback is inevitable from those who don’t have the community’s interests at heart. I will stand with you and for you, to achieve the best interests of our city, without caving to unacceptable compromise in the name of consensus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Bylaw enforcement extends weekend service

Three Ward 2 businesses among winners at Chamber business awards